map icon2021 Virtual Lecture Series

From time to time throughout the year, SHD will invite an expert to share a topic of interest related to geographic exploration, its history, and its impact, including cultural exchange, cartography, and trade, among other topics.  These lectures will be free and open to everyone.  Registration will be required to obtain a Zoom link.  Lectures will be added here as they are scheduled.

 

20 April 2021, Tuesday, at 3:00 p.m. US Central (Chicago); 8:00 p.m. UTC time (UK, Portugal); 9:00 p.m. Central European Time (most of Europe)
Chet van Duzer will present “The Origin of the Mythical Island of Brasil in Early Nautical Charts.”

12 February 2021,Friday, at 1:00 p.m. US Central (Chicago); 7:00 p.m. UTC time (UK, Portugal);  8:00 p.m. Central European Time (most Europe)
Professor Gayle K. Brunelle will present : “Monopolizing Commerce and Colonization:  The Uses and Abuses of French Royal Commercial Companies.”