2021 Virtual Lecture Series

Join us for the first lecture in this series: 12 February 2021, 1:00 p.m. US Central Time (Chicago)

 

 

 

 

 

Register
Professor Gayle K. Brunelle

Gayle K. Brunelle

The Society for the History of Discoveries launches its new occasional virtual lecture series on Friday, 12 February, with a presentation by Gayle K. Brunelle, professor of History at California State University-Fullerton.

“Monopolizing Commerce and Colonization:  The Uses and Abuses of French Royal Commercial Companies.”

Historians of French overseas commerce and colonization have debated the advantages and disadvantages of French state-sponsored companies of commerce and colonization since the creation of these companies in the 17th century.  Were these companies really more efficient at financing and organizing French overseas exploration and colonial ventures, or were they actually an impediment that help to explain why the British were so easily able to oust the French from most of North America?  My talk will focus on the 17th and 18th centuries, relating how and why these the French crown created these companies and discussing the most recent scholarship regarding their role especially in the exploration and colonization of North America.

This event is free and open to everyone, but registration is required.

Date:  Friday, 12 February 2021

Time:  1:00 p.m. US Central (Chicago); UTC time (UK, Portugal) – 7 pm; Central European Time (most Europe) 8pm
US Pacific Time 11 am

 

 

 

Contact Information

Membership

treasurer.sochistdisc@gmail.com

 

General Information

societyhistorydiscoveries@gmail.com

Or Send A Message